Readings: Week Two

Is Google making us stupid?  Maybe, it’s definitely making us unfocused.  I don’t agree that it diminishes book reading skills.  I’m still pretty able to knock out a book in a weekend if the mood strikes me.  But I know for damn sure that I wouldn’t be able to finish that book if I was sitting in front of my computer.

I probably checked five other websites and sent three pieces of e-mail while I was reading these articles.  I can quickly research any thought that pops into my head on the same device that I do my homework.  This doesn’t make for a focused reading experience.  I can’t even count the times that I’ve gone to Wikipedia for something school related, and an hour later I realize I’m knee deep in the epsiode breakdown “Salute Your Shorts.”  I never had that problem with Encyclopedia Brittanica.

I think the internet is creating a society of temporary experts on everything.  Who needs to retain knowledge when you can always access it with Wi-Fi.  This can lead to a variety of problems, of course.  It makes it very easy to spout out information on any subject, but without the understanding that years of study and experience get you.  It can also make one look very stupid when confronted with a real expert.

2 Responses to Readings: Week Two

  1. shadae says:

    I think what your saying is very true. I think the internet can quickly inform a person about certain topics but in a small way its making us stupid because we are not really learning the full amount of required information.

  2. Jeff Nugent says:

    Really enjoyed this post and the way you provided a critique that connected to your own experiences. Your idea that, “I probably checked five other websites and sent three pieces of e-mail while I was reading these articles. I can quickly research any thought that pops into my head on the same device that I do my homework. This doesn’t make for a focused reading experience.” Suggests one way that perhaps Carr has hit the mark with this observations and that our attention is being fragmented by reading / being on the web…at least your experience seems to support this.

    Also liked your idea that, “I think the internet is creating a society of temporary experts on everything.” Perhaps this is an indication that our understanding of “experts” is being redefined…if before it was simply about having the information then you might be right, but I think that expertise has more to do with recognizing patterns in complex bodies of knowledge and understanding when to apply it to solve problems and ask better questions. Expertise is more than just access and finding, but it certainly is a part of the picture these days.

Leave a Reply

